Therfield Heath is managed by the Conservators of Therfield Heath and Greens, who were set up by an Act of Parliament in 1896.

You can find information about their accounts and annual meetings by following the links below.


Annual meetings


Elected by the stintholders

Neil Guttridge:

Ben Harrop:

“I moved to this area with my family in 2014 and the Heath was a significant factor in us choosing Royston as a place to live. The Heath is somewhere that my kids play rugby, tennis, hide & seek and fly kites, it’s somewhere that we go for a walk, meet our friends for a beer and the occasional game of rounders, there isn’t a day of the week when at least one of us is on the Heath having fun, it’s also the first thing I see when I open the curtains in a morning, which is why I want to play my part in protecting it. I have a career in the building industry and work for a large construction and regeneration plc, I have experience of working in partnership with both central and local government and other public sector bodies to deliver their property regeneration schemes. I hope by volunteering to become a Conservator I can bring some of the skills and experience I’ve developed both personally and professionally for the benefit of Therfield Regulation Trust and as such everyone who uses the Heath and Greens”

Elected by the electors of The Special Drainage District of Royston

John Davison:

“I’ve lived in Royston since 1982 and my children have grown up here. It is the unique Heath on our doorstep that makes Royston a very special place to live. Over the years I’ve played rubgy, cricket, hockey and golf on the Heath. Becoming a Conservator and Trustee is an opportunity for me to give a little back and work to help protect the Heath for the generations to come.”

Colin Smith:

“I became a Trustee to Manage & Protect this 420 acres of Natural Chalk Common land with SSSI & sporting facilities in February 2018.
I am passionate about getting the balance right of the recreational users verses protecting the Flora and Fauna.
As a Golfer I respect the natural layout of the Heath. As a resident in Royston since 1964 I fell in love the first time I saw it from the back of my fathers car as we moved here from SW London and played Hockey from 1969 on the grass pitches.
As Royston expands it is important we ALL respect this beautiful piece of nature Reserve.”

Clive Hall:

The Conservators are jointly Lords of the Manor of Therfield. They can appoint a Conservator to serve and have appointed John King.

John King (Chairman):

To contact the clerk or for further information email :

Please note the clerk only works part-time